top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFreedom Press

Voting is Important Every Year





By - Damian Parsons


Writers Note:

When I was asked to write this article it coincided with the terrorist attacks by Hamas on October 7th. I would be remiss to not at least acknowledge that these actions are deplorable and beyond debate. However, I also find it important to note that these are the actions of a specific group that ties their beliefs to a religion for which I have much respect. Personally, I am a Christian who has read the Bible, the Torah, and the Quran. Nowhere in any of those teachings do they write, nor condone actions of this nature. My hope is that we keep those virtues in mind during this tense time.


Thank you for reading my note, My hope is that I can relate the importance of voting in every election, not just Presidential, Governor or Mid Terms. I don't want to beguile you into voting this November based solely on my reasons, but to show you how it can affect you directly. One of my favorite Virginians, Thomas Jefferson, said, "That government is the strongest of which every man feels himself a part". ( Ok, he's more charming so I had to use it.) Anyway, what that means to me is that we must consider what effects us most dearly because that is our best opportunity to affect change. We all know the adage; the "s*#% flows downhill". Well, smoke goes up. So, if we create enough then others will take notice. That smoke begins locally, not federally.

Polling has identified these 3 issues as being important in this year and that could have a significant impact on next years processes and results.


1. Economy/Gas/Inflation – I grouped these all together because they all constantly effect you and your home. These are everyone's #1 issues because if you can't support your family, then how can you sustain your lifestyle? We have all felt the effects. If you can't buy your eggs or meat, how can you be expected to pay your property taxes? I'm not suggesting lowering those taxes, I'm suggesting using those funds perpetually more responsibly so there's lesser need to raise them.


2. Immigration-

It's important to keep in mind that we as a country want to give everyone the opportunity to fulfill the American dream. All of our families were immigrants in one situation or another. However, overall, not at the expense of those currently here. Again, this goes back to the economy (see a theme?). Sanctuary cities like many candidates on the ballot, hope to offset losses by taking loans from the Fed. Who ends up paying for them? Find a candidate that disagrees with such offsets and you’ll find someone with financial sensitivities.


3 Gun Control-I am a proud, responsible gun owner. The issues related to this debate are very important to me and hit home with many close to my heart. Personally, I feel that education is the key to proper ownership. When I refer to education that includes mental health programs for those in need. I was surprised to learn that over the past several years roughly 60 percent of gun related incidents were suicide related. This is a staggering number, and surprising to most because these statistics typically get little attention in the media. The divisiveness regarding the 2nd Amendment needs to end. Effective health programs offer a much better way to unite our communities than finger pointing. Although, this is a state by state issue, we would be remiss to not recognize the effect that the local voters have on such a divisive issue nationwide.


I hope that this short article can give you some insight on the importance of casting a ballot this and every year. Don't let vocal small groups keep the larger groups silent. VOTE!


God Bless and thank you for your time.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page